FIND YOUR COMMUNITY FOR FILMMAKING

Manhattan Neighborhood Network: https://www.mnn.org/

Meetup: https://www.meetup.com/ (look up film, screenwriting, animation, etc meetups)

Film Shop Collective: http://www.thefilmshop.org/

Brooklyn Filmmakers Collective: http://brooklynfilmmakerscollective.com/

Reel Works: https://www.reelworks.org/

 

GREAT FREE/INEXPENSIVE CLASSES

Apple Store: https://www.apple.com/today (Filter to show the video editing courses)

Manhattan Neighborhood Network: https://www.mnn.org/

Film Riot: https://www.filmriot.com/

NoFilmSchool: www.NoFilmSchool.com

Adorama: https://www.adorama.com/alc/

AdoramaTV: https://www.adorama.com/alc/category/AdoramaTv/

B&H Photo & Video: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/find/EventSpace.jsp

 

OTHER CLASSES:

Hunter College: https://fm.hunter.cuny.edu/ (you should be able to attend for free

School of Visual Arts: https://sva.edu/ (Undergrad, Graduate, and Continuing Education)

School of Motion (online) https://www.schoolofmotion.com/

New School (Undergrad, Graduate, and Continuing Education) https://courses.newschool.edu/

Gotham Writer’s Workshop: https://www.writingclasses.com/

 

PLACES TO BUY/RENT EQUIPMENT/NETWORK WITH OTHER FILMMAKERS, GOOD PLACE TO BREAK INTO FILM:

B&H: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/

Adorama: https://www.adorama.com/

DCTV: http://www.dctvny.org/

Hello World: https://hwc.tv/

CSI Rentals: https://www.csirentals.com/

Handheld Films: http://handheldfilms.com/

Fotocare: https://www.fotocare.com/

Ablecine: https://www.abelcine.com/

 

SCREENWRITING SOFTWARE

Final Draft: https://store.finaldraft.com/

Celtx: www.celtx.com 

Google Fountain (works with Google Docs): https://fountain.io/

 

ANIMATION APPS

Adobe Creative Suite (Animate, Character Animator, After Effects, Photoshop) (FREE TRIAL): https://www.adobe.com/downloads.html

Toon Boom: https://www.toonboom.com/

 

Animation Apps For iPad

Procreate Dreams: https://procreate.com/dreams

Adobe Fresco: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/adobe-fresco-painting-studio/id1458660369

Flip-A-Clip: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/flipaclip-cartoon-animation/id1101848914

 

VIDEO EDITING SOFTWARE:

Adobe Premiere: https://www.adobe.com/products/premiere.html

AVID: https://www.avid.com/

DaVinci Resolve (FREE VERSION AVAILABLE): www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/davinciresolve/

Final Cut X: https://www.apple.com/final-cut-pro/

 

VIDEO EDITING SOFTWARE FOR IPHONE/IPAD

Adobe Rush: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/adobe-premiere-rush-edit-video/id1188753863

iMovie (FREE): https://apps.apple.com/us/app/imovie/id377298193

Videorama (FREE): https://apps.apple.com/us/app/videorama-video-editor/id1049690233

Luma Fusion ($29): https://apps.apple.com/us/app/lumafusion/id1062022008

Provided by: Dan Hirshon (www.DanHirshon.com